Grandmother – 1909

 

Grandmother1909

Grandmother  551-D. Written across the ribbon — I feel as old as I look.

Post marked Detroit, Mich.  Jan 13, 1909.  Addressed Mrs. Effie Weaver, Tireman Ave. Detroit.

“Dear Sister, I’m sending you my picture for you will not know me when you see me next time.  I am getting along as well as I could expect I guess but it seems very slow.  I can move my knee some but cn’t lift my foot up yet – am still in bed.  Will let you hear again this week.   Ettie [Marietta Lee Wright]”

Apparently, this was the 1909 version of sibling guilt giving.  Aunt Ettie wanted Great Grandmother Weaver to know she was not doing well and feeling very OLD.   Subliminal hinting.   Also, notice the casual addressing.  No street number, no cross street, yet the post card was delivered.

About Pat Shaul

Genealogist / Family Historian; Blog started as a record of my Grandfather's post card collection which ran for 15 months. Then, in June, 2017, I changed over to reporting and commenting on notifications from the ANCESTRY app "We're Related"
This entry was posted in Detroit, Genealogy, History, LEE, Postcards, Weaver. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Grandmother – 1909

  1. KTC says:

    This postcard appeals to me… kind of like an antique cameo.

    Like

Leave a Reply

