Birthday Greetings

Birthday0037

Birthday Greetings.  O let me be the first to say: I wish thee joy on thy birthday; may only good things come thy way.   B-198.  Made in U.S.A.

No post mark [not mailed].  No addressee [message covers both sides of card]

“Dear Florence [Florence Koontz Weaver], I have been going to send you a card all the week but forgot it.  It will be like the letter you sent me and I suppose you know Gardner [Charles Gardner Griste] and Ethel [Ethel Jeannette Koontz Griste] has Scarlet Fever by this Mrs. Griste [Jessie Rooney Griste]  is there.  This has been a rainy and cold day.  I have been cleaning house this week.  I hope Ethel and Gardner won’t be bad if you had been here I might go up and if she gets bad and they want me to go I will go up wishing you a happy birthday.  Will write later.   Billy [William Peter Koontz] is still in.  He is out of the H now.   From Mother [Phebie Ann Gardner Koontz]”

Great Grandmother Koontz really knew how to write a birthday card!  Everyone survived the Scarlet Fever — Aunt Ethel, Grandma Florence’s sister, lived until 1969.  Gardner, Ethel’s son, lived until 1998.   Uncle Bill, Grandma’s brother, did finally make it back to Columbus.  Jessie Rooney Griste was Aunt Ethel’s mother in law.

Based on the news supplied in this note, I am guessing this card came in 1918 or 1919.

 

 

About Pat Shaul

Genealogist / Family Historian; Blog started as a record of my Grandfather's post card collection which ran for 15 months. Then, in June, 2017, I changed over to reporting and commenting on notifications from the ANCESTRY app "We're Related"
This entry was posted in Birthday, Genealogy, History, Koontz, Postcards. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

