I’ve been thinking very hard ….

LC_Scan_0004

I’ve been thinking very hard what to write upon this card, I’m weary of the same old rhyme one always sees at Christmas time; You’ll know I love you just the same, if I simply sign my name.    Whitney Made.  Worcester, Mass.   

No post mark [not mailed].  No addressee [message written across both sides of the card]

“Dear Lella M Weaver [Leila Marie Weaver].  We are so disappointed by not seeing you.  If you don’t need any close [sic.] or anything put this one D. in the Bank.  It would not buy very much anyway.   I am feeling some better today,   I have not been able to see Aunt Rose [Roseanah Weaver Fisher] for 4 weeks, she is not well at all.  Good by.  Be a good girl.”

Leila was born in 1919, so this card is probably from that year or 1920 at the latest.  Aunt Rose recovered and lived until 1931.   Leila was the daughter of Lee G and Florence Koontz Weaver.   Even though the front of the card said “You’ll know I love you just the same, if I simply sign my name. ”  the sender did not.   I suspect it was from Aunt Teen [Christiana Weaver Rinehart Schwartz]

 

 

About Pat Shaul

Genealogist / Family Historian; Blog started as a record of my Grandfather's post card collection which ran for 15 months. Then, in June, 2017, I changed over to reporting and commenting on notifications from the ANCESTRY app "We're Related"
This entry was posted in Christmas, Genealogy, History, Postcards, Weaver. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

