Meriwether Lewis – Possible, but ….

MeriwetherLewis

How cool would it be to claim Meriwether Lewis of the Lewis and Clark Expedition as a 5th cousin, 6 times removed?  Well, We’re Related actually presented a pedigree line for me with only one Private Male and that was a documented person in my line.  So, I have people with names and dates up to the MRCA, Thomas Smith (1565-1625).  Yes, SMITH!  Now, I have painstakingly gone up through my 5th great grandmother, Mary Smith (1737-1787) → Jacob Smith (1706-1797), her father → Joseph Smith (1680-1734), his father → Edward Smith (1636-1693) END.  We’re Related adds two more Smith generations and then links to Meriwether’s Smiths.  This could take a very long time to confirm.  There really are a lot of Smiths and I have seen just too much unqualified connecting by We’re Related.  But, it might be worth while to stick this one in the TO DO pile.

About Pat Shaul

Genealogist / Family Historian; Blog started as a record of my Grandfather's post card collection which ran for 15 months. Then, in June, 2017, I changed over to reporting and commenting on notifications from the ANCESTRY app "We're Related"
This entry was posted in Ancestry, Genealogy, History, Pedigree Charts, We're Related. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Meriwether Lewis – Possible, but ….

  1. KTC says:

    Meriweather Lewis and I are second cousins, seven times removed. His great-grandparents were Francis Thornton and Mary Taliaferro. Francis and Mary are my 8th great-grandparents.

    Like

Leave a Reply

